Building & Code Enforcement

2-10 North Van Brunt Street
Englewood, NJ 07631
Phone:(201) 871-6642, 201-871-6643  Fax: (201) 816-8018

Office Hours

The Building Department is open to the public Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm. These are the Office Procedures for Permit Processing.

Click on the following link for a list of Common Permit Applications.  Please click here to view the state's website for Construction Permit Application and Forms.

Inspectors

Construction Official Walter Deptuch
(wdeptuch@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6649
Building Inspector Michael Daley
(mdaley@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6647
Plumbing Sub-Code Official Joe Lamastra
(glamastra@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6655
Electrical Sub-Code Official George Pedersen
(gpedersen@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6653
Fire Sub-Code Official Nick Lepore
(nlepore@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6656
Fire Inspector Dave Williams 201-871-6656
Zoning Official Wayne Scott
(wscott@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6650
Housing & Property Maintenance Supervisor Sue Amin
(samin@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6692
Housing & Property Maintenance Inspector Eric Dolphy
(edolphy@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6646
Health Department Plan Review 201-871-6502
City Engineer Ken Albert / Frantz Volcey 201-569-7590
Elevator Sub-Code Official Joe 201-437-6327
Technical Assistant Fern Cauthen
(fcauthen@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6643
Administrative Assistant
Sophia Lawson
(slawson@cityofenglewood.org)
201-871-6648
 Land Use Administrator
(Board of Adjustment & Planning Board)

Tina Evans
(tevans@cityofenglewood.org)

201-871-6645

All Inspectors are available Monday thru Friday. Call Inspectors directly to schedule appointments. Leave amessage if they are not available and they should return your call within 24 hours.

Requirements for Inspections

  • Responsible Person Present
  • Approved Plans on Site

Building Regulations

Permit applications for building, electrical, fire and plumbing construction must be submitted to the Division of Building Regulations to ensure they meet State and local building codes. Englewood uses the State of New Jersey permit applications for these subcodes.

UCC applications for the following subcodes:

  • Building
  • Electrical
  • Fire
  • Mechanical Inspector
  • Elevator
  • Plumbing

All home improvement contractors must register with the State of New Jersey.

Click here for contractor registration information and forms.

Certificate of Continued Occupancy - Ordinance No. 85-40

CCO Letter to Sellers and Real Estate Agents

Code Enforcement

The Division of Code Enforcement is responsible for ensuring compliance with local and State building codes.

Message to Property Owners and Tenants regarding basements and attics.

Listing files in 'Building & Code Enforcement'