What are risk-based inspections?

Foodborne illness can occur in any food facility. However, it is more likely to occur at food establishments where many different kinds of perishable foods are handled and prepared. For this reason, Englewood uses a risk-based inspection program. The risk category is determined by several factors including the kind of food served, the complexity of preparation steps that food requires, the population served, the volume of food served, and the establishment's previous compliance history. A food hazard assessment or establishment profile is completed for each food establishment when opening or when there is a change of menu or type of operation.

  • Risk type 1 food establishment means any retail food establishment that:
    1. Serves or sells only pre-packaged, non-potentially hazardous foods;
    2. Prepares only non-potentially hazardous foods; or
    3. Heats only commercially processed, potentially hazardous foods for hot holding and does not cool potentially hazardous foods. Such retail establishments may include, but are not limited to, convenience store operations, hot dog carts, and coffee shops.
  • Risk type 2 food establishment means any retail food establishment that has a limited menu; and
    1. Prepares, cooks, and serves most products immediately;
    2. Exercises hot and cold holding of potentially hazardous foods after preparation or cooking; or
    3. Limits the complex preparation of potentially hazardous foods, including the cooking, cooling, and reheating for hot holding, to two or fewer items. Such retail establishments may include but are not limited to, retail food store operations, schools that do not serve a highly susceptible population, and quick service operations, depending on the menu and preparation procedures.
  • Risk type 3 food establishment means any retail food establishment that:
    1. Has an extensive menu that requires the handling of raw ingredients; and is involved in the complex preparation of menu items that includes the cooking, cooling, and reheating of at least three or more potentially hazardous foods; or
    2. Prepares and serves potentially hazardous foods including the extensive handling of raw ingredients; and whose primary service population is a highly susceptible population. Such establishments may include, but are not limited to, full service restaurants, diners, commissaries, and catering operations; or hospitals, nursing homes, and preschools preparing and serving potentially hazardous foods.
  • Risk type 4 food establishment means a retail food establishment that conducts specialized processes such as smoking, curing, canning, bottling, and acidification designed to control pathogen proliferation or any reduced oxygen packaging intended for extended shelf-life where such activities may require the assistance of a trained food technologist. Such establishments include those establishments conducting specialized processing at retail.

Show All Answers

1. What types of inspections does the Englewood Health Department conduct?
2. Who conducts the inspections?
3. What are risk-based inspections?
4. How will I know when my restaurant will be inspected?
5. What do Public Health Inspectors look for in a routine inspection?
6. What happens when a violation is found?
7. Are food establishments fined for violations?
8. When does Public Health close an establishment?