- Health Department
- Vital Statistics & Licensing
Vital Statistics & Licensing
February 1, 2019
In July 2018, Gov. Phil Murphy signed legislation to allow transgender persons born in NJ to have their gender identity reflected on their birth certificates, which is now in effect. All amendments to Vital Records must be processed by the State Department of Health in Trenton. Their staff will provide the necessary form(s). Please download the Birth Certificate - Gender Identity Sex Change FAQs (PDF) for more information.
Englewood Department of Health is not a credit card merchant. However, for your convenience, you can process online requests using a major credit card through VitalChek Network, Inc., which we have partnered with to provide you with this service. Orders can be placed on the Vitalchek website.
An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service. Credit cards accepted include American Express®, Discover®, Visa® or MasterCard®.
Additional Credit/Debit Card Service, at a modest fee to the customer, is available at the Customer Service Window (Point-of-Service).
View the Copies of Vital Records page to learn more.
Delegation of Authority may be used by a person with the right to access to allow another party to obtain a certified copy of a record on their behalf.
- Birth or Death Certificate - Spanish (PDF)
- Marriage or Civil Union Certificate - Spanish (PDF)
- Marriage / CU License Information (State of NJ website)
Effective June 22, 2018 - The minimum age for marriage in New Jersey is 18.
Applications for Marriage or Civil Union Licenses must be made with the Registrar's office at least 72 hours in advance of the time the couple expects to pick up the license. At least one of the applicants must provide proof of residence in Englewood unless both applicants are out-of-state residents. In that case, the couple may only apply in Englewood if the ceremony is to be in Englewood.
Applications are taken by appointment from 9:30 am to 11 am or by special arrangement with the Englewood Registrar, Deputy Registrar, or Alternate Deputy Registrar(s). Arrangements for your Ceremony must be made independently either with the Clergy or a Mayor or a Judge. Please review the Marriage Solemnization Authorization (PDF) to see a complete list of persons authorized to solemnize a ceremony.
- Download a List of Officiants on File with the Registrar (PDF).
- The Marriage / CU License Application/Reaffirmation Form can be found on the Applications and Forms page.
- View the Adoptee/Birth Parent FAQs on changes to Vital Records Law on the State of New Jersey Department of Health website.
The State Dept of Health recommends that you purchase a copy of your vital record from their office and indicate on your application that it is needed for Apostille Seal. Local copies may be acceptable as all NJ vital records now contain the State Registrar's signature, but we do not make any guarantees should you choose to purchase your certificate from this office. The certified copy must then be forwarded to the Department of Treasury requesting an Apostille Seal. View the State of New Jersey - NJ Treasury website for instructions.
Please note that most Amendments and Legal Name Changes, with the appropriate documentation, can be processed by the Vital Statistics staff at the Englewood Department of Health. The processing fee for a legal name change is $27 (includes one certified copy of the amended record) and $20 for general amendments (does not include additional certified copies). Amended records may not, in most cases, be issued until the paperwork has been approved and returned to us by the NJ Office of Vital Statistics and Registry. View the NJ Office of Vital Records webpage for more details.
Amendments to Birth Records with Date of Birth May 15, 2015, and beyond.
Affidavits of Domestic Partnership are taken by appointment from 9:30 am to 11 am or by special arrangement with the Registrar, Deputy Registrar, or Alternate Deputy Registrar(s)
View Vital Statistics FAQs on the State of New Jersey Department of Health webpage.
Detailed information regarding pet and retail licensing can be found on the Environmental Health page.
Review the Pet Licenses and Owner Guidelines page.
Retail License Guidelines
Please refer to Chapter 485 of the City Code (Part III - Health Code) "Fees and Fee Schedule".
Plan Review Applications
All new retail applications and fees must be reviewed and approved by a Health Department inspector (REHS) prior to processing by the License Clerk.
Temporary License Applications for special events must be completed and submitted with payment at least five business days prior to the scheduled event. Any event scheduled outside normal business hours (9 am to 5 pm) will be subject to an inspection fee regardless of the license status or related fees. All applicants must submit a $60 setup deposit to cover the cost of the inspector's wait time if not ready for inspection at the time specified/agreed to. The deposit will be refunded if the applicant is ready for inspection on time.